Let’s Fighting Love

[Image via CMSW]
[Image via CMSW]
A while ago I read a post by Aniplays about his love for fighting games and how much they mean to him. When I read it, it made me think about my own love for fighting games and how special the genre is to my life.

Fighting games have a very special place in my heart for various reasons. Not only are they fun to play but there is a certain charm to them that makes me come back for more. As a small boy my first exposure to fighting games was Street Fighter II. I obviously didn’t know how to properly play a 2D fighting game back then but I just loved playing it. When I got an arcade emulator on my PC that was one of the games I would always play. Naturally, as I grew up, I started becoming more exposed to other 2D fighting games, such as Fatal Fury and The King of Fighters. It was only until I bought Tekken 3 on PS1 that I started to play 3D fighting games.

HADOUKEN!! [Image via Fighters Generation]
HADOUKEN!! [Image via Fighters Generation]
Tekken 3 was one of my favourite games growing up – almost everyone in my family played that game. The gameplay and fighting mechanics were top notch at the time and it was just very fun to play. I remember playing as Forrest Law most of the time, spamming that flip kick on my opponents. My sister’s poison of choice – and still to this day – was Hwoarang. My best friend, sister and myself still have some hectic matches against each other when we play Tekken. My best friend is a Lili fighter and I’m more of a Jin fighter these days. He sometimes gets quite annoyed when I spam combos on him but that’s Jin Kazama for you.

[Image via Game Pilgrimage]
[Image via Game Pilgrimage]
Some people have said that fighting games are starting to become a dying breed and there is some half truth to that statement. While fighting games may have struggled to stay relevant in the past, there seems to be a resurgence in the genre today. Street Fighter IV, in my opinion, helped to make fighting games relevant again and is still one of the most popular games to this day. Following the success of Street Fighter IV came Netherrealm Studios’ remake of a classic title: Mortal Kombat, which was a strong competitor to Street Fighter IV.

[Image via Gamespot]
[Image via Gamespot]
To this day I still love playing fighting games – my friend and I will still occasionally fight each other in Street Fighter IV. Fighting game tournaments, such as EVO, still exist today; with many different fighters pitting themselves against one another to see who the top fighter is. With upcoming titles, such as Street Fighter V and Tekken 7, as well recent releases, such as Mortal Kombat X, the fighting game genre still has enough life left in it before it receives a KO.

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. aniplays says:

    Wow, thanks for linking my post! For awhile I’ve been on a dry run and ran out of things to write about because I felt like no one really read my posts. But I really needed to read this, thanks for bringing this up! I’ll be working on new blog posts very soon! Great post by the way!

    Are you planning to watch the evo stream?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been feeling the same way too; that’s why I haven’t been as consistent on my blog as others have been. Hopefully I’ll be more consistent in the future with my writing 🙂 Oh, and whenever I get the chance I’ll try and watch the EVO stream 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. aniplays says:

        I’m overly excited for evo this year. Who’s your favorite player in the street fighter community? I’m rooting for smug (godlike dudley player) this year.

        Like

      2. To be honest I haven’t been following EVO much this year so I’m not sure who the players are :/ However, I found this gem the other day that will just kill you with laughter 😀 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G2hsewxQdFA

        Liked by 1 person

      3. aniplays says:

        Sorry, I didn’t see this note till now. But k brad is definitely in my top 5 for personalities throughout the fighting game community. Diemonion also had a really good entrance that no one expected also.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

